Ok! I have had a crazy hectic week last week, and a really great weekend with my hubby, but now it’s back to normal and I will *try* to do this pillow how-to and have it make sense ๐Ÿ˜‰

I really wanted to freshen up for spring, and when I saw the price tag on some pillows that caught my eye, I decided, with my sewing skills I could just MAKE some!! I also don’t have a lot of time, or patience for anything too complicated! Now don’t worry, this is about as easy as it gets, and hopefully my explanation doesn’t complicate it ๐Ÿ˜‰ So whether you have no experience or years, it’s do-able! It’s also easy on the bank… I wanted a neutral but durable fabric, and painters drop cloths (from your hardware store… I got mine at Lowes) are perfect! And between $5-$10 you can make these pillows and more! For the filling, I got the $2.50 pillows from Walmart, that happened to be half off the day I bought them! SCORE!
You’ll also need some iron on Velcro, I had some leftover from another project, so I’m not 100% on price, but not more than a couple bucks!

First off wash and dry your drop cloth so it’s preshrunk and softened up a bit. Then you need to lay it out and cut a 20.5 in. wide by 47 in. strip. Line it up so there is a
finished edge on one of the ends.

Next fold your fabric in thirds lengthwise, so the right sides are together, the two ends overlap with the finished edge ON THE BOTTOM (otherwise your unfinished edge will be visible) and adjust it to 20in., so you should have a square! Pin the sides so they are lined up.. Sew your sides up about a 1/4in. in from the edge. That’s it! Two straight lines!!
Turn it so the “right” side of the fabric is out! Your finished edge should overlap the cut edge you have a pillow cover!!

Now for the Velcro, I cut 3 pieces Velcro about 1.5 inches long and put one in the middle and two on each end to keep the flap closed after you get the pillow in! Follow the directions on the box for the iron on Velcro… But don’t worry, it’s easy-peasy!!

Next… Stuff your pillow in, Velcro it up, and voila!!

Please feel free to ask Q’s if any of this was confusing, I tried to simplify it as best I could ๐Ÿ™‚
Image

